Digital Archaeologies of Classical Sculpture

13.06.2024 - 14.06.2024 Ganztags

Digital Archaeologies of Classical Sculpture

An International Workshop

Thursday 13 June: Museum of Ancient Art and Archaeology, Aarhus University

  • 9:00 Coffee/tea
  • 9:30 Welcome and setting the agenda: Classical Sculpture in a Digital Age Chris Dickenson, Troels Myrup Kristensen & Katharina Meinecke

Chair: Chris Dickenson

  • 10:00 Beneath the Surface: Sculpture, 3D Scanning, and the History of Archaeological Media at Kalydon Troels Myrup Kristensen, with Stine Birk
  • 10:45 Coffee/tea
  • 11:15 Reconstructing Hellenistic Sculptural Groups Then and Now Katharina Meinecke
  • 12:00 Lunch (for speakers and discussants)

Chair: Amalie Skovmøller

  • 13:30 The Delphi Charioteer: Reconstructing Polychromy of Stone and Metal through Digital Approaches Vincent Baillet
  • 14:15 From Coin to Sculpture: Using 3D Modelling to Explore the Making of Roman Imperial Portraits Dario Calomino
  • 15:00 Coffee/tea

Chair: Jane Fejfer

  • 15:30 The Virtual Reunification and Reconstruction of Samothracian Monuments Rebecca Salem, with Bonna Wescoat, Ludovic Laugier, Vincent Baillet, Georg Plattner and Ellen Archie
  • 16:15 Recombining Fragments and Reconstructing Context - 3D Modelling and the Votive Portraits from the Artemision at Messene Chris Dickenson
  • 17:00 Reception

Friday 14 June: Museum of Ancient Art and Archaeology, Aarhus University

Chair: Troels Myrup Kristensen

  • 9:30 Documenting Ancient Quarries and Colossal Sculpture on Naxos Rebecca Levitan
  • 10:15 Production and Perception of Roman Sculpture: New Approaches using Computational Shape Comparison Martin Langner
  • 11:00 Coffee/tea

Chair: Katharina Meinecke

  • 11:30 Archaeology meets Psychology: Investigating the Perception of Sculptures of the Long 4th Century Claudia Schmieder and Michaela Stark
  • 12:15 Lunch
  • 13:30 Concluding Responses Lise Skytte Jacobsen, Jane Fejfer and Amalie Skovmøller
  • 14:15 End of workshop Organisers Katharina Meinecke, Saarland University, Germany / Chris Dickenson, University of Groningen, Netherlands / Troels Myrup Kristensen, Aarhus University, Denmark